Which Countries Need a Visa for Singapore?

Which Countries Need a Visa for Singapore?

by July 14, 2021

The buzzing atmosphere of one of Asia’s biggest metropolises, an innovative business scene, and a fun-filled vacation are all reasons for intrepid adventurers to add Singapore to their itinerary.

However, it’s important to note that there are a handful of Singapore entry requirements, namely the visa and Singapore Arrival Card.

To make it easier, we take an in-depth look at the countries that need a visa for Singapore in this article.

visa passport to Singapore

Singapore Assessment Levels

Singapore’s visa policy is divided into three categories: visa-free, Assessment Level I, and Assessment Level II.

Each category has its own separate rules and regulations regarding entry to Singapore. We discuss each in detail below:

Visa-free Countries

All travelers holding a passport of one of the European Union countries, as well as Australia, New Zealand, Norway, South Korea, Switzerland, the United Kingdom, and the United States are part of the visa-free scheme with Singapore and do not need a visa to enter the country.

Holders of passports issued by one of the aforementioned countries are allowed to stay in Singapore for up to 90 days without a visa. However, if a traveler wishes to stay more than 90 days, they will be required to apply for a particular visa, depending on their purpose (i.e. business, studies, and so on).

Assessment Level I Countries

There are a handful of countries, mostly those part of the Commonwealth of Independent States, that are part of the Assessment Level I list. These countries are allowed to apply for their Singaporean tourist visa (also known as a Singapore eVisa) online.

The list of Level I countries includes Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, China, Georgia, India, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, North Korea, Russia, Tajikistan, Ukraine, Turkmenistan, and Uzbekistan.

However, it’s important to note that citizens of the aforementioned countries are allowed to apply for a Singapore eVisa if they are in possession of an ordinary passport.

Assessment Level II Countries

Finally, there are countries that make up Singapore’s Assessment Level II list.

These countries include Afghanistan, Algeria, Bangladesh, Egypt, Iran, Iraq, Jordan, Kosovo, Lebanon, Libya, Mali, Morocco, Nigeria, Pakistan, Palestine, Saudi Arabia, Somalia, Sudan, Syria, Tunisia, and Yemen.

Unlike Level I countries, citizens of Level II countries will need to visit their nearest Singaporean embassy, consulate, or local authorized visa agent in order to obtain a Singapore visa.

The Singapore Arrival Card

Once the traveler has sorted out which type of visa they need to travel to Singapore, the final step is to apply for an SG Arrival Card.

The Singapore Arrival Card is a requirement for all foreign visitors, as it grants them permission to enter the country.

The Singapore Arrival Card (also known as the SGAC) was recently launched in 2019 and replaced the old, paper-based Disembarkation Card that was used beforehand.

Thanks to Singapore’s modernization, everything is now done completely over the internet. Travelers can apply for the Singapore Arrival Card online, and the entire process only takes a few minutes to complete.

The Singapore Arrival Card application asks for a handful of details, such as the traveler’s full name, date of birth, nationality, passport details, and a health declaration.

After the form is filled out, the traveler will need to pay the processing fee with a valid credit or debit card, and wait for approval. The average waiting time is less than 24 hours, and the approved SG Arrival Card will be sent to the email address that was provided on the application.

When arriving in Singapore, the traveler will need to present their SG Arrival Card in its electronic form to the immigration officer along with their passport.

What Else Is Needed to Travel to Singapore?

Travel to Singapore

Photo by Daria Shevtsova from Pexels

Once you’ve packed your luggage, downloaded a few essential travel apps, and booked your tickets, there are just a few more things to print out.

According to Singapore’s Immigration & Checkpoints Authority, all visitors entering the country must have a few documents.

These include a passport with more than 6 months’ validity (at the time of departure); proof of onward travel (either to your next destination or back home); sufficient finances to fund your entire trip to Singapore; and a valid SG Arrival Card.

The ICA also notes that those who are visiting Singapore on a tourist visa cannot conduct business, paid employment, studying, relocating, and other similar activities. Those who wish to do so are encouraged to pursue the correct visa.

After you have gathered everything (including your Singapore Arrival Card!) and booked your ticket, the next thing to do is enjoy Singapore.

Where will you go first: the colorful streets of Little India, the awe-inspiring Gardens by the Bay, the shoppers’ paradise known as Orchard Road, or take the monorail to Sentosa Island? The choice is all yours!


Featured image: Photo by @shawnanggg on Unsplash